Dr. Stuart C. Yudofsky, Distinguished Service Professor and chair of the Menninger Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at Baylor College of Medicine, received the inaugural Gary J. Tucker M.D. Award for Lifetime Achievement in Neuropsychiatry at the annual meeting of the American Neuropsychiatric Association in Seattle this February.

The award, established in memory of Dr. Gary J. Tucker, former chair of the Dartmouth University Department of Psychiatry as well as the University of Washington Department of Psychiatry, is the Association’s highest honor. It is presented to an individual whose career best exemplifies the professional and personal values of Dr. Tucker, which include academic leadership in neuropsychiatry, commitment, mentoring and scholarship. Yudofsky has demonstrated such values through a lifetime commitment to improving the understanding of brain-behavior relationships as they affect mental illness.

Yudofsky, who also holds the Beth K. and Stuart C. Yudofsky Presidential Chair in Neuropsychiatry at Baylor, was recognized as “one of the giants of neuropsychiatry” and for being the founding and continuing editor in chief the Journal of Neuropsychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences, now in its 25th year of publication. The Journal is the official journal of the American Neuropsychiatric Association. He is also the co-editor of the standard textbook in neuropsychiatry, “The American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Neuropsychiatry,” which has been published in many languages and is now in its 5th edition, as well as author of 45 other textbooks related to neuropsychiatry and psychiatry. The developer of the Overt Aggression Scale and the Overt Agitation Severity Scale, Yudofsky’s research focuses on the psychopharmacology of aggression and agitation in patients with brain disorders.

At the award ceremony, Yudofsky remarked, “Both Dr. Tucker and the American Neuropsychiatric Association have been transformational in demonstrating that all psychiatric disorders are brain illnesses and that all neurological disorders have profound emotional and behavioral consequences. I am, therefore, doubly honored to receive this award.”