Baylor College of Medicine News

Faculty and Staff Awards and Honors News

Advancing Clinical Excellence grants awardedJun 6, 2012
Ten BCM residents receive grants to improve the safety and quality of patient care.
BCM faculty elected to Association of American PhysiciansMay 18, 2012
Dr. Peter Hotez, Dr. Christie Ballantyne join 59 other doctors, researchers as new members of the Association of American Physicians.
Erez receives 2012 William K. Bowes Jr. Award in Medical GeneticsMay 10, 2012
Dr. Ayelet Erez first geneticist from BCM to receive award.
Jahoor receives Grand Challenges Explorations grantMay 10, 2012
Funds from Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation to address arginine rates in Indian women, explore link to low-birth-weight babies.
Dr. Wah Chiu named to National Academy of SciencesMay 1, 2012
Chiu is the seventh BCM faculty member to be named to the Academy.
Dr. Malcolm Brenner research named in 10 best of 2012Apr 18, 2012
Director of BCM's Center for Cell and Gene Therapy receive recognition for stem cell transplant research.
New BCM McNair Scholar applies stem cell technology to advance diabetes researchApr 17, 2012
Dr. Malgorzata Borowiak has been named Baylor College of Medicine's fifth McNair Scholar.
Ballantyne honored for commitment to clinical researchApr 17, 2012
Dr. Christie Ballantyne awarded Louis M. Sherwood Award at the Association of Clinical Research Professionals 2012 global conference.
Alkek Foundation honors Dr. Danny Jones with Endowed ChairMar 2, 2012
The Danny B. Jones Endowed Chair in Ophthalmology recognizes Jones' 30 years service as chair of the department, 40 years with College.
BCM postdoc receives Prostate Cancer AwardFeb 23, 2012
Dr. Kalpana Kannan to receive $225,000 for three-year grant to continue work in prostate cancer chimeric RNAs