Dr. Bert O'Malley, chair of molecular and cellular biology at Baylor College of Medicine and the Tom Thompson Distinguished Service Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology, is the 2011 recipient of the Ernst Schering Prize, which recognized his pioneering work on the actions of steroid hormones and nuclear receptors.

The prize is awarded annually by the Ernst Schering Foundation, a German organization, to internationally renowned scientists for their outstanding work in biology, medicine and chemistry. O'Malley's work in the area of gene regulation, steroid receptors and transcriptional coactivators –master regulator genes – has resulted in many awards, including the 2007 National Medal of Science.

"I am honored by this award," said O'Malley. "It is a tribute to Baylor College of Medicine's strong science that is strengthened by easy access to clinical, translational and fundamental science activities."

"Dr. O'Malley's leadership in this field and his commitment to bench science demonstrate the strong basic science core of Baylor College of Medicine," said Dr. Paul Klotman, BCM president and CEO. "The award honors both his achievements in the field and the dedication they represent."

Contributions to Education

O'Malley is also known for his contributions to education. He has graduated more than 250 students and postdoctoral fellows, who now serve as professors, chief executive officers and deans of their own institutions around the world. O’Malley is also associate director of basic science in the NCI-designated Dan L Duncan Cancer Center.

The recipient of the Schering Prize receives 50,000 Euros (approximately $70,000) in unrestricted funds, which will be given to O'Malley in an official ceremony at the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities on September 20, 2011. O'Malley will then give a lecture at a scientific institution in Berlin and a selected high school the day after the award.


O'Malley is often called the father of molecular endocrinology, a field he has championed, advocating for the first professional journal in the field. His science has garnered him much recognition. He has been elected to membership in the National Academy of Sciences and the Institute of Medicine. He is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and the American Academy of Microbiology. He has been inducted into the Royal Academy of Medicine (IRE). He is the recipient of numerous honorary degrees and many awards, among them the Ernst Oppenheimer Award, the Gregory Pincus Memorial Medal, the Lila Gruber Cancer Award, the Borden Award, the Dickson Prize in Medicine, the Axel Munthe Award, the Bicentennial Medallion of Distinction (University of Pittsburgh), the Eastman Kodak Award, the Doisy Lectures Award, the D.R. Edwards Medal, the Fred Conrad Koch Medal, the Endocrine Transatlantic Medal, the Rodbell Award, the Antonio Feltrinelli International Prize in Biology, the Brinker International Award in Breast Cancer, the George W. Beadle Award, the Solomon Berson Distinguished Lectureship from the American Physiological Society, the Pioneer Award, the Biolink Scientist of the Year Award, the Vanderbilt Distinguished Medical Award (Alumni Association), the Bowman Distinguished Geneticist Award, the Pasarow Award in Cancer Research, the Carl G. Hartman Award, Pink Ribbon Hero Award for Cancer Research, the National Medal of Science Award, the Women in Endocrinology Award, the Steven C. Beering Award, the Allan Munck Prize, and the R. H. Williams Award. He has published more than 650 papers and holds 22 patents in the fields of gene regulation, molecular endocrinology and steroid receptor action.

He heads one of the longest running National Institutes of Health Reproductive Training Grants and Center Programs in the United States. He is a Distinguished Professor and Scholar at BCM where he is valued for his administrative skills and continues to participate as an award-winning teacher in multiple yearly courses.