Dr. Bert O’Malley, chair of molecular and cellular biology at Baylor College of Medicine, will receive the 2013 Endocrine Regulation Prize of the Fondation IPSEN at the 15th European Congress of Endocrinology in Copenhagen, Denmark, on April 29.

This prize, established in 2002, is awarded by La Fondation IPSEN to a researcher or a physician who has carried out work essential to a better understanding of the role of endocrine and neuroendocrine interactions in regulating the body’s major metabolic functions. It is bestowed for a particularly significant body of work rather than a single discovery.

O’Malley, recipient of the 2007 National Medal of Science, has centered his research around steroid hormones and determined how they work on the cell nucleus, genes and the level of gene expression. His laboratory discovered the first steroid receptor coactivator, and he has gone on to elucidate the function of these "master regulators" in both normal and cancer cells. He is known as the father of the field of molecular endocrinology.

"Dr. O’Malley’s ongoing work in the laboratory and his contributions to understanding the activity of hormones in the brain has shed new light on reproductive medicine, cancer as well as the normal operations of the cell," said Dr. Paul Klotman, president of Baylor College of Medicine. "The faculty and College congratulate him on this important recognition of his contributions to the field."

O’Malley, associate director of the Dan L Duncan Cancer Center at BCM, is also known for his contributions to education. He has graduated more than 250 students and postdoctoral fellows, who now serve as professors, chief executive officers and deans of their own institutions around the world.

He has been elected to membership in the National Academy of Sciences and the Institute of Medicine. He is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and the American Academy of Microbiology. He has been inducted into the Royal Academy of Medicine in Ireland.

He is the recipient of numerous honorary degrees and many awards, among them the 2011 Ernst Schering Prize, the Ernst Oppenheimer Award, the Gregory Pincus Memorial Medal, the Lila Gruber Cancer Award, the Borden Award, the Dickson Prize in Medicine, the Axel Munthe Award, the Bicentennial Medallion of Distinction (University of Pittsburgh), the Eastman Kodak Award, the Doisy Lectures Award, the D.R. Edwards Medal, the Fred Conrad Koch Medal, the Endocrine Transatlantic Medal, the Rodbell Award, the Antonio Feltrinelli International Prize in Biology, the Brinker International Award in Breast Cancer, the George W. Beadle Award, the Solomon Berson Distinguished Lectureship from the American Physiological Society, the Pioneer Award, the Biolink Scientist of the Year Award, the Vanderbilt Distinguished Medical Award (Alumni Association), the Bowman Distinguished Geneticist Award, the Pasarow Award in Cancer Research, the Carl G. Hartman Award, Pink Ribbon Hero Award for Cancer Research, the National Medal of Science Award, the Women in Endocrinology Award, the Steven C. Beering Award, the Allan Munck Prize, and the R. H. Williams Award. He has published more than 650 papers and holds 22 patents in the fields of gene regulation, molecular endocrinology and steroid receptor action.

He heads one of the longest running National Institutes of Health Reproductive Training Grants and Center Programs in the United States. He is a Distinguished Professor and Scholar at BCM where he is valued for his administrative skills and continues to participate as an award-winning teacher in multiple yearly courses. He holds the Thomas C. Thompson Chair in Cell Biology

Established in 1983 under the aegis of the Fondation de France, the mission of the Fondation IPSEN is to contribute to the development and dissemination of scientific knowledge. The long-standing action of the Fondation IPSEN aims at fostering the interaction between researchers and clinical practitioners, which is indispensable due to the extreme specialization of these professions.