For her professionalism and humanism and her ability to model these qualities in the practice of medicine, Dr. Marcia Katz, associate professor of medicine-pulmonary at Baylor College of Medicine, has been named the 2011 recipient of the Ben and Margaret Love Foundation Bobby Alford Award for Academic Clinical Professionalism.

The award is given annually to a BCM physician. Katz received the award during the White Coat Ceremony for first-year medical students.

“I can think of no one who is more deserving of the honor of this award than Dr. Katz. Not only does she exemplify the highest level of academic clinical professionalism, she is applying this personal attribute to foster the clinical professionalism of her colleagues and improve the quality of care which Baylor will provide in the future,” said Dr. Robert F. Todd, the Margaret M. Alkek Distinguished Chair of Medicine at BCM.

“I am truly honored and humbled to be the recipient of this amazing award. It is thrilling to be recognized for what I value most: quality and compassionate medical care. I am a proud member of the BCM faculty and I will continue to work to accomplish our mission of clinical excellence,” said Katz.

Katz serves as associate chair of medicine for clinical affairs as well as the medical director of the Faculty Group Practice at BCM. She specializes in the treatment of cystic fibrosis. She received her bachelor of arts degree in biology from Brown University and her medical degree from Boston University School of Medicine. She completed her residency training in internal medicine at Boston City Hospital and her fellowship in pulmonary and critical care medicine at the Pulmonary Center at Boston University School of Medicine.

Katz, who has been on faculty at BCM since 2001, serves as principal investigator for the National Emphysema Treatment Trial and co-principal investigator of the Cystic Fibrosis Therapeutics Development Center at BCM’s Cystic Fibrosis Center. She is also the director of the Adult Cystic Fibrosis Center at BCM and a member of the board of the Texas Gulf Coast Chapter of the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation.