Dr. William T. Butler, chancellor emeritus of Baylor College of Medicine, has been named inaugural chairman of the board of the Statewide Clinical Trials Network of Texas (CTNeT), a collaborative effort of academic and community-based physicians across the state to develop a highly efficient network to conduct innovative clinical trials.

Butler was selected for his experience providing strategic direction to many professional organizations at the state and national level, and for his service on numerous boards in a leadership capacity.

Founding institutions

A distinguished immunologist, Butler has served many leadership roles at BCM including president and CEO from 1979 – 1996 and again as interim president from December 2008 – August 2010. He also held the positions of associate dean and dean of admissions. In his 17 years as president of BCM, he led the College in a period of unprecedented growth and national and international recognition.

CTNet was launched with a $25 million grant from the Cancer Prevention Research Institute of Texas in August 2010.

The NCI-designated Dan L. Duncan Cancer Center at BCM is one of the 14 founding institutions of the network which also includes the University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center; Texas Oncology; Texas Society of Medical Oncology; the Texas Tech University Health Science Center School of Medicine Cancer Center in Lubbock; The Cancer Therapy & Research Center at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio; Mary Crowley Cancer Research Center in Dallas; the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas; and the Texas A&M University/Scott & White Hospital System Temple.

Contributing expertise in cancer genomics BCM will contribute resources and expertise in cancer genomics and tissue biorepository for the identification of tissue-based biomarkers.

BCM has received more than $50 million in CPRIT funding since the institute began awarding cancer grants to Texas researchers in January 2010.

CTNet also named Dr. Charles E. Geyer, Jr. as chief medical officer and Dr. David H. Johnson as chair of the Strategic Steering Committee. Both Geyer and Johnson serve on the faculty of the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas.

Additional details available on CTNet.