Kent Osborne ASCO (320x240)
credit: Photo courtesy of ASCODr. C. Kent Osborne accepts his 2016 American Society of Clinical Oncology’s Gianni Bonadonna Breast Cancer Award from the ASCO's Peter Yu.

Dr. C Kent Osborne, director of the Dan L Duncan Comprehensive Cancer Center at Baylor College of Medicine, has been awarded the 2016 American Society of Clinical Oncology’s Gianni Bonadonna Breast Cancer Award and Lecture, an honor given annually to an oncologist for outstanding contributions to basic or translational research in breast cancer and exceptional mentoring abilities.

The American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) is one the largest and most influential oncology professional societies, with more than 35,000 members around the world. Osborne was presented with the award at the ASCO Annual Meeting June 4.

A career of research

With this award, ASCO celebrates Osborne’s impressive 40-year research career and his dedicated focus on refining endocrine and HER2-targeted therapies in breast cancer patients. Through his innovative research, Osborne has also helped to identify the drug fulvestrant as the most effective endocrine therapy in patients with hormone receptor-positive breast cancer.

Identifying these mechanisms of resistance continues to be an emphasis in Osborne’s lab, including his recent work to understand mechanisms for resistance to treatment for HER2-positive breast cancer, discoveries that are improving the care of these breast cancer patients.

Pieces of the puzzle

At the award ceremony, Osborne likened breast cancer research to a puzzle; each discovery adding a little piece to the greater goal of finding a cure.

“We have made significant progress in breast cancer care and treatment, but there is still so much more to accomplish,” says Osborne. “We can keep digging deeper into the causes and behavior of the disease, with each breakthrough telling us more about how we can treat and prevent breast cancer.”

Osborne is a funded by the Department Of Defense, the National Institutes of Health/National Cancer Institute, and the Komen Foundation. He has been the principle investigator on a Breast Cancer Specialized Program of Research Excellence grant since the program was initiated in 1992. He also serves as a Professor of Medicine and Cellular and Molecular Biology at Baylor and is the recipient of several other awards for his breast cancer research.