Dr. Donald T. Donovan has been named the Olga Keith Wiess Professor and Chair of the Bobby R. Alford Department of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery at Baylor College of Medicine.

Donovan has been leading the department as interim chair since 2010. He took over for Dr. Bobby R. Alford, distinguished service professor at Baylor, who led the department that bears his name for more than 40 years.

Recognized for leadership

news-021214-donovan (320x240)
Dr. Donald T. Donovan

“Dr. Donovan has provided strong leadership for the department for the past three years as interim chair,” said Dr. Paul Klotman, president and CEO of Baylor. “His commitment to all of Baylor’s missions, particularly in the area of education, demonstrates his understanding of the comprehensive strategy important to the College’s future.”

Donovan began his medical career at Baylor as a student,earning his medical degree, and then later completing his residency in surgery and otolaryngology. After working as a Special Fellow with Dr. John J. Conley in head and neck oncology, plastic and reconstructive surgery in New York, Donovan joined the faculty at Baylor.

He specializes in head and neck tumors, laryngeal/voice disorders, endoscopic sinus surgery and thyroid cancer, and sees patients in the Smith Tower.  Highly regarded for his clinical expertise, he has been recognized annually by Best Doctors in America since 1998.

“I am humbled by this honor to lead the department of Otolaryngology during this period of innovative transformation occurring in the Texas Medical Center. It is an exciting time and place to be during this era of healthcare reform that is challenging academic medicine to reinvent itself,” said Donovan. “I inherit a department with a legacy of excellence that we hope to build upon and contribute to the future success of all of our affiliated institutions.”

Expansion plans

Plans are to expand otolaryngology services to the McNair Campus in January 2015.

No stranger to leadership, Donovan was the senior associate dean for student affairs at Baylor from 1996 to 2011 and has earned multiple honors for his commitment to education. He received Baylor College of Medicine’s Outstanding Faculty Award five times and the College’s Commitment to Medical Education Award three times. He has been named the Outstanding Faculty of the Year by the College’s Alumni Association and received the John W. Overstreet, M.D. Award from Houston Methodist.

Donovan is also a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons, the American Laryngological Association, the Triological Society and the American Academy of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery.