The Baylor College of Medicine Board of Trustees has named business leader James T. Hackett as its chair.

Hackett is retiring from Anadarko Petroleum Corp, where he is recognized as spearheading the company’s success over the past decade. He stepped down as chair of the Anadarko board earlier this month and as CEO last year, when he announced the timeline for his retirement from the exploration company.

He succeeds Marc Shapiro, who served as chair of the Baylor College of Medicine board since 2009. Shapiro will remain on the board and lead the Development Committee.

Influential leadership

"Jim Hackett is a tremendous leader, in the business world and of people," said Dr. Paul Klotman, BCM president and CEO. "He has had a great impact on BCM’s success as a board member and as chair of the finance committee, and he will provide innovative direction for the College as board chair."

Hackett has been a member of the BCM board of trustees since 2004. He has announced that after retiring, he will attend Harvard Divinity School to bolster his communications and leadership skills. He holds a bachelor’s of science degree from the University of Illinois and a master’s of business administration from Harvard University.

"Since being named president of Baylor College of Medicine three years ago, I have recognized the many strengths of the College," said Klotman. "One thing that stands out is the commitment of the Board of Trustees. These men and women are recognized leaders, dedicated to Baylor and its success, and willing to give their time and expertise to its missions. Having leaders like Marc Shapiro and Jim Hackett is an extraordinary benefit."

Additional board appointments

The board also elected Judge Carolyn Dineen King as vice chair and board secretary; and Fred Lummis and Robert McNair as vice chairs.

King is Circuit Judge on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the 5th Circuit. Lummis is chair and CEO of Platform Partners LLC., a private investment company. McNair is chair and CEO of the Houston Texans.

The BCM Board of Trustees also named two new members, Shauna J. Clark and Robert J. Underbrink.

Clark is Partner-in-Charge of Fulbright & Jaworski’s Houston office, which she joined in 1994. A nationally recognized expert in labor and employment law, she works with clients in a wide variety of industries, from energy and utility entities to healthcare and consumer products providers to banking and finance.

Underbrink is the president and CEO of the King Ranch, a private, diversified agriculture company headquartered in Houston. Its operations include cattle, horses, wildlife management and recreation and several commodities, including cotton, milo, sugar cane, pecans, citrus fruit and vegetables. Underbrink joined King Ranch in 1984 as a management trainee.

Clark and Underbrink join three other trustees named to the BCM board earlier this year: John R. Huff, Harold M. Korell and Jack L. Martin.

Huff is chair of Huff Ventures, an advisory and capital management company investing in new technology for the energy industry. In addition, he is chair of the board of Oceaneering International Inc. and was CEO of the company from 1986 through 2006.

Korell began his career with Mobil Oil Corporation in 1968 and held various positions with Tenneco Oil Co., McCormick Resources, American Exploration Co., and Southwestern Energy Company, where he retired as CEO in 2010.

Martin is the global executive chair and CEO of Hill+Knowlton Strategies, a strategic communications firm with 90 offices in 52 countries. He is a recognized leader in communications, politics and business.