Baylor College of Medicine

BCM Announces 12th Annual Michael E. DeBakey Medical Student Poetry Awards

Dipali Pathak


Houston, TX -

Baylor College of Medicine in Houston has announced the winners of the 12th Annual Michael E. DeBakey Medical Student Poetry Award. They were chosen from original poems submitted by undergraduates currently enrolled in accredited United States medical schools. This annual competition honors the legendary Dr. DeBakey, premier cardiovascular surgeon, pioneering medical scientist and inventor, gifted medical educator, prolific author and scholar, international medical statesman, and impassioned humanitarian.


The winners are:

  • First place cash prize of $1,000.00 – “Remembrance,” by Corina Iacopetti, Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine.
  • Second place cash prize of $500.00 – “Hippocampus,” by Ali Rae, Brown Alpert Medical School.
  • Third place cash prize of $250.00 – “The Importance of Remembering,” by Eve Feinberg, State University of New York at Stony Brook School of Medicine.

The DeBakey Medical Foundation sponsors this program. The first place poem will be submitted to a major medical periodical for consideration for publication.

Back to topback-to-top