Baylor College of Medicine recently honored distinguished former students and current faculty members at its 42nd Annual Alumni Awards Banquet, part of a weekend of talks, open houses, and receptions for alumni celebrating reunions.

Dr. Kathleen R. Liscum, president of the Baylor College of Medicine Alumni Association and Class of 1988, presented the Distinguished Alumni Award to Dr. Clarence P. Alfrey of the Class of 1955, and Dr. John W. Herndon of the Class of 1953.

Liscum also presented the Distinguished Alumnus of the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences Award to Dr. Edwin M. Stone, Class of 1983 (graduate school) and Class of 1985 (medical school).

Dr. Stanley H. Appel and Dr. Martin I. Lorin received Distinguished Faculty Awards from Liscum.

Dr. Sandy B. Bahm, II, Class of 1969, was welcomed as the new president of the Alumni Association. Dr. Bahm is an orthopedic surgeon in Columbus, Texas, where he lives with his wife Nancy and their children.

The college also honored Dr. Bert E. Davis, Class of 1931, for his 100th birthday and for his service and professionalism in the field of medicine.

Alfrey joined the BCM faculty in 1961 and became a professor of medicine in 1971. He was chief of the hematology section at the Veterans Affairs Medical Center and at Baylor and The Methodist Hospital. He has served as president of the John P. McGovern Museum of Health and Medical Science, the Harris County Medical Society, and the Houston Society of Internal Medicine.

Herndon is a clinical associate professor at both BCM and at The University of Texas Health Science Center, and has practiced with the Medical Center Ear, Nose and Throat Associates since 1960. He has played an active role in the Baylor alumni executive committee, has published several professional articles, and has been a member of numerous professional organizations.

Stone received his doctorate in cell biology from BCM, where he also earned his medical degree. He joined the faculty of the University of Iowa in the Department of Ophthalmology, and became a professor in 1997. He has received numerous research awards including the Alcon Research Institute Award, and was named an investigator for the Howard Hughes Medical Institute in 2002.

Appel received his medical degree from Columbia College of Physicians and Surgeons, and is now professor and chairman in the Department of Neurology, and a professor of biochemistry, neurosciences, and molecular physiology at BCM. His research focuses on degenerative neurologic diseases, and he is the director of the MDA/ALS Research and Clinical Center and the Jerry Lewis Neuromuscular Disease Research Center at BCM.

Lorin is a professor of pediatrics and the director of the pediatric residency training program at BCM, where he has been since 1978. He received his medical degree from New York University College of Medicine, and worked with the U.S. Public Health Service on a Navajo Indian Reservation in Arizona. He has written books and textbook chapters on pediatrics and has received many teaching awards, including the Minnie Stevens Piper Professor Award.