skip to content »

Presidential Award for Excellence in Education

Houston, Texas

The Michael E. DeBakey Center at BCM
Office of Undergraduate Medical Education
not shown on screen

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: How long must a nominee have been at Baylor before being considered?

The required 15 years of service to Baylor must be as faculty. They must not include training years.

Q: What should be included in the biosketch?

Biosketches are 1-2 page documents prepared by the nominee. Generally they contain a brief narrative summary of the person’s pertinent background and current positions and then narrate their most important achievements and current work. In this instance, it would of course focus to a good degree on the nominee’s various achievements as an educator. The biosketch serves as a birds-eye view of the educator as a nominee for this recognition and is reviewed by the selection committee in conjunction with the CV and the nominating letter during Part I of the selection process.

Q: What should be included in a nominating letter?

A nominating letter should support the nominee’s qualifications for the nomination and discuss how he or she fulfills the nominating and educational criteria for the award. The nominators should include a description of their own association with the nominee and detailed discussions of their first-hand knowledge of the nominee’s work as an educator. The letter should paint a full picture of why you believe this person qualifies for a Robertson Award. Most nomination letters are from 3-5 pages single-spaced.

Q: Who will be reconsidered for the Robertson Award?

Candidates who did not receive the award last year following consideration at the final selection committee meeting, will be reconsidered this year unless they withdraw their candidacy. We recommend careful review of the criteria by the candidates and their nominators, followed by updating of letters and materials accordingly.

Automatic reconsideration one year after being selected as a candidate is for a second year only. Candidates who have failed to receive the award for a second year in a row may not re-apply during the next application cycle.

Nominees who were unsuccessful in becoming candidates may not re-apply during the next application cycle. Subsequent applications must include new materials.

E-mail this page to a friend