trautner-klotman-bobby-alford-award (320x240)
The Ben and Margaret Love Foundation Bobby Alford Award for Academic Clinical Professionalism presented to Dr. Barbara Trautner by Dr. Paul Klotman.

Barbara W. Trautner, M.D., Ph.D., associate professor and director of Clinical Research in the Michael; E. DeBakey Department of Surgery and associate professor in the Section of Health Services Research in the Department of Medicine at Baylor College of Medicine, has been awarded the Ben and Margaret Love Foundation Bobby Alford Award for Academic Clinical Professionalism - an honor bestowed annually to Baylor physicians who best exemplify the trait of professionalism in the practice of medicine.

“Dr. Trautner is TRULY the consummate professional, and assuredly our privilege to count as one of our colleagues and leaders. As often as it is said – no one more deserving of this recognition!,” stated Dr. Todd K. Rosengart, professor and chair of surgery.

Dr. Trautner is an infectious diseases clinician-investigator affiliated with the Center for Innovations in Quality, Effectiveness, and Safety (IQuESt). For the past 14 years her primary research interest has been developing new strategies to prevent catheter-associated urinary tract infection (CAUTI).

"As a clinical academic leader, Dr. Trautner is a consummate professional who consistently puts others’ interests ahead of her own. She is a true servant-leader." notes Dr. Scott A. LeMaire, professor and  vice chair for research. "Her abilities to effectively mentor trainees and junior faculty members and to lead a diverse team of research support staff have had an incredible impact on our department’s research program."

Dr. Trautner obtained her Ph.D. in clinical investigation from Baylor's Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences. Her interest in CAUTI prevention has led her to develop two productive branches of investigation, one in health services research and one in microbiology translational research.

In addition to her research, she has held administrative and educational responsibilities as Director of the Infectious Diseases Fellowship Program from 2007-2012, and the VA associate chief of Medicine and VA Internal Medicine Residency Program site director from 2012-2014.