Scott A. LeMaire, M.D. (320x240)
Scott A. LeMaire, M.D.

Jan. 29, 2018

Scott A. LeMaire, M.D., professor of surgery in the Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery and vice chair for research in the Michael E. DeBakey Department of Surgery, and Ying H. Shen, M.D., Ph.D., associate professor of surgery in the Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery, were awarded funding of $45,000 for their proposal “Effects of Ciprofloxacin Use on the Susceptibility to Aortic Aneurysm and Dissection Development” from the Roderick D. MacDonald Research Fund. 

Hu Ying Shen (320x240)
Hu Ying Shen, M.D., Ph.D.

The MacDonald Fund at Baylor St. Luke’s Medical Center customarily bestows financial support of up to $50,000 to investigators in conducting original research or collecting preliminary data leading to external funding for a one-year period. MacDonald Fund grants aim to facilitate research at Baylor St. Luke’s and support investigators working in the Baylor St. Luke’s setting to develop fundable and innovative research programs.  The clinical investigations must take within Baylor St. Luke’s and its affiliated institutions or with Baylor St. Luke’s patients.

Dr. LeMaire and Dr. Shen are NIH- and AHA-funded investigators and architects of a successful cardiovascular research program at Baylor College of Medicine. One of the core missions of the program is research training and education. Their lab pursues investigations into the causes and progression of aortic disease and maintains one of the world’s most extensive and well-cataloged aortic tissue banks.