2017 Ray C. Fish Award for Scientific Achievement

2017 Ray C Fish Award  (320x240)
credit: Texas Heart InstituteDr. Joseph S. Coselli with THI President Emeritus Dr. James T. Willerson  

Joseph S. Coselli, M.D., vice chair of the Department of Surgery, chief of the Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery, and Cullen Foundation Endowed chair in the Michael E. DeBakey Department of Surgery has received the 2017 Ray C. Fish Award for Scientific Achievement, recognizing Dr. Coselli’s innovative work in aortic aneurysm surgery.

The award, presented annually by the Texas Heart Institute at Baylor St. Luke’s Medical Center, was presented by THI President Emeritus Dr. James T. Willerson during the 17th Texas Update in Cardiovascular Advancements meeting which was held on February 9, 2018. This award recognizes those whose innovations have made significant contributions to cardiovascular medicine and surgery. Following the award, Dr. Coselli delivered the Ray C. Fish lecture entitled, “From Crawford to Coselli: Progress and Future Direction in Thoracoabdominal Aortic Aneurysm Repair.” 

Previous recipients of this prestigious award include Dr. Norman Shumway (heart transplantation); Dr. John W. Kirklin (heart-lung machines): Dr. O. Howard Frazier (heart and lung transplantation and development of the left ventricular assist device); Dr. Charles D. Fraser, Jr. (surgery to correct congenital cardiac disease in children); and the founder of the Texas Heart Institute, Dr. Denton Cooley (surgery for congenital heart disease, aneurysms of the aorta, and implantation of the artificial heart.)