The Michael E. DeBakey Department of Surgery Faculty Research Grants provide support to eligible junior faculty members for research projects with a high likelihood of future extramural funding. This year three recipients will receive $22,000-25,000 each for their research project. The winners were selected based on a high score from a review panel outside our department.

2018 Surgery Faculty Research Grant Recipients

Crystal S. Shin, Ph.D.

Dr. Crystal S. Shin, assistant professor of surgery in the Division of Surgical Research, received funding for her proposal, “Development of NOmatrix as a Bandage to Prevent/Treat Nosocomial Infection.” Dr. Shin’s research focuses on the development of broadly applicable drug delivery systems with enhanced therapeutic efficacy by integrating nanotechnology and 3D bioprinting technology.

Bryan Burt, M.D.

Dr. Bryan Burt, associate professor, associate chief, and director of Research in the Division of General Thoracic Surgery, received funding for his proposal, “Tumor-infiltrating B cells as regulators of PD-1 blockade in lung cancer.” Dr. Burt’s research efforts concentrate on immunologic determinants of pleural mesothelioma and non-small cell lung cancer; he is currently focusing efforts on novel therapeutic intraoperative treatments of pleural mesothelioma.

Neal R. Barshes, M.D., M.P.H.

Dr. Neal R. Barshes, associate professor of surgery in the Division of Vascular Surgery and Endovascular Therapy, received funding for his proposal, “Using 16s RNA to Better Understand the Role of Various Microbes in Foot Osteomyelitis Treatment Failure.” His research activities focus on the treatment of foot infections and peripheral artery disease as a means to prevent limb loss.