The Surgery Education Office provides support for the students, residents and faculty in the Michael E. DeBakey Department of Surgery Education Programs. The main telephone number is (713) 798-6078 and the fax number is (713) 798-8941.

Faculty Contacts

Michael E. DeBakey Department of Surgery
Educational Faculty and Administrative Team Members
Listed by Residency/Fellowship Programs, Medical Student Programs, and Undergraduate Programs

Faculty:
Chair Todd K. Rosengart, M.D.
(713) 798-1317 

Vice Chair for Education Bradford G. Scott, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed office)
bgscott@bcm.edu

Vice Chair for Research Scott A. LeMaire, M.D.
(
832) 355-9942
slemaire@bcm.edu 

Residency Programs:
Congenital Cardiac Surgery Residency Program Director Dean McKenzie, M.D.
(832) 826-1929
dean.mckenzie@bcm.edu

General Surgery Residency Program Director Bradford G. Scott, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed office)
bgscott@bcm.edu

General Surgery Residency Program Associate Program Director Eric J. Silberfein, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed office)
ejs@bcm.edu

General Surgery Residency Program Associate Program Director Neal R. Barshes, M.D., M.P.H.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed office)
nbarshes@bcm.edu

Director of General Surgery Residency Program - Research Track Nader Massarweh, M.D., M.P.H.
(713) 794-8017
nader.massarweh@bcm.edu

Director of General Surgery Residency Program – Global Track Jed G. Nuchtern, M.D.
(832) 824-3135
nuchtern@bcm.edu

Liver Transplant Fellowship Directors John Goss, M.D. and Christine O’Mahony, M.D.
(832) 355-1400
jgoss@bcm.edu and comahony@bcm.edu

Pediatric Surgery Residency Program Director Mark Mazziotti, M.D.
(832) 822-3135
mazziott@bcm.edu

Plastic Surgery Residency Program Director Shayan Izaddoost, M.D., Ph.D.
(713) 798-6305
shayani@bcm.edu

Surgery Critical Care Program Director S. Rob Todd  M.D.
(713) 798-8051
srtodd@bcm.edu

Vascular Surgery/Integrated Vascular Surgery Residency
Program Director 
Joseph L. Mills, Sr. M.D.
(713) 798-8831
joseph.mills@bcm.edu

Vascular Surgery Integrated Vascular Surgery Residency Program
Associate Program Director 
Neal R. Barshes, M.D., M.P.H.
(713) 794-7862
neal.barshes@bcm.edu

Thoracic Surgery Residency Program Director Joseph Coselli, M.D.
(832) 355-9910
jcoselli@bcm.edu

Thoracic Surgery Residency Associate Program Director Shawn Groth, M.D.
(713) 798-6281
shawn.groth@bcm.edu

Thoracic Surgery Residency Associate Program Director Ravi Ghanta, M.D.
(713) 873-3435
ravi.ghanta@bcm.edu

Thoracic Surgery Residency Assistant Program Director Ourania Preventza, M.D.
(832) 355-9910
preventz@bcm.edu

Fellowship Programs (TMB approved /non-ACGME programs):
Aortic Surgery Fellowship Program Director 
Joseph Coselli, M.D.
(832) 355-9910
jcoselli@bcm.edu

General Thoracic Surgery Fellowship Program Director – Bryan Burt, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed Office)

UME Medical Student Programs
Core Medical Student Faculty Director
Stephanie Gordy, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed Office)
stephanie.gordy@bcm.edu

Associate Director for Core Medical Students Ronald Cotton, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed Office)
ronaldc@bcm.edu

Director for Sub-Internship Stacey Carter, M.D.
(713) 798-6078 (Ed Office)
stacey.carter@bcm.edu

Director for Electives
(713) 798-6078 (Ed Office)

Undergraduate Student Program:
DeBakey Summer Student Program Shayan Izaddoost, M.D., Ph.D.
(713) 798-6078
medstudentprogram@bcm.edu

Education Administrative Team

The Surgery Education Office provides support for the students, residents, and faculty of the departmental education programs.  The main telephone number is (713) 798-6078 and the fax number is (713) 798-8941.

Director for Education and Alumni Affairs
Holly Shilstone
(713) 798-6190
holly.shilstone@bcm.edu

Academic Coordinators
Allyson “Ally” Bremer
(Vascular Surgery, Pediatric Surgery and Surgical Critical Care)
(713) 798-5302
allyson.bremer@bcm.edu 

Jaye Chambers (General Surgery)
(713) 798-8929
jaye.chambers@bcm.edu

Amy Silva (Thoracic Surgery Residency Program, Aortic Surgery Fellowship and General Thoracic Surgery Fellowship)
(713) 798-6417
amy.silva@bcm.edu

Woods McCormack (UME Surgery Core and Sub-Internship Programs)
(713) 798-4163
woods.mccormack@bcm.edu

Cathryn Linn (Plastic Surgery Residency Program and UME Sub Internship/Electives for Plastics)
(832) 822-3140
cathryn.linn@bcm.edu 

Josephine Koller (Summer DeBakey Program, UME Electives, Assistant to General Surgery Residency Program and Alumni Affairs)
(713) 798-4733
josephine.koller@bcm.edu