skip to content »

Department of Psychiatry

Houston, Texas

The Alkek Building at Baylor College of Medicine
not shown on screen

Asim A. Shah, M.D.

Asim A. Shah, M.D.Chief of Psychiatry, Harris Health System and Ben Taub Hospital
Executive Director, Psychotherapy Services and Intensive Outpatient Program
Director, Mood Disorder Program at BTH/Harris Health System

Director, Community Behavioral Health Program

Associate Professor, Menninger Department of Psychiatry
Family and Community Medicine
Assistant Director, Psychiatric Residency Education

Psychiatry Clinic: 713-873-4900
Administrative Assistant: 713-873-5270

Dr. Shah is an associate professor in the Menninger Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences and an associate professor in the Department of Family and Community Medicine, Baylor College of Medicine, where he is involved with teaching of the Baylor Psychiatry, Neurology, Internal Medicine, as well as Family and Community Medicine residents and medical students. He is the associate chief of psychiatry of the Harris Health System/Ben Taub Hospital, and the associate director of the Community Behavioral Program for Harris Health System. He serves as the Medical Director of the Intensive Outpatient Program located at the Neuropsychiatric Center, Ben Taub General Hospital. He is involved with the residents in the Clinician Educator Track, and serves as their preceptor in the Ben Taub and Harris County Community Clinics, where he holds outpatient clinics. He sits on numerous hospital wide committees, and is the director of membership for the Texas Regional Psychiatry Minority Mentorship Network (TRPMMN). While working at Ben Taub Hospital he has worked at the Psychiatric Emergency Room and the Consultation Liaison Services.

Before joining Baylor, he was assistant clinical professor at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, where he had a very busy private practice. He served as the chief of staff of his local hospital in Arkansas, and was a member of the board for the hospital. He was the medical director of inpatient psychiatric unit in Arkansas, where he won the prestigious national medical director of the year award in 2002 and 2003. He was also the chief resident of his Psychiatry Program. He was involved with the American Psychiatric Association's practice research network, and served as mentor for young and early career psychiatrists.

Curriculum Vita

E-mail this page to a friend