skip to content »

Department of Pharmacology

Houston, Texas

BCM students are involved in research.
not shown on screen

Lynn Yeoman, Ph.D.

Lynn Yeoman, Ph.D.Professor
Department of Pharmacology

Education and Awards

  • Ph.D., University of Illinois
  • Postdoctoral, 1970, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, Texas

Dr. Lynn C. Yeoman is currently the professor of Pharmacology, Medicine and Allied Health Sciences at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, Texas. As director of the Medical Pharmacology Course he is responsible for all pharmacology taught to medical students. In addition, he lectures on various aspects of pharmacology, i.e., drug metabolism, pharmacogenetics and receptor characterization to medical students, graduate students, allied health students and residents. He holds the administrative title of senior director of Academic Computing in the Office of the senior vice president and dean of Medical Education. In addition, he is a faculty associate in the College’s Huffington Center on Aging and a Faculty member of the College’s Center for Chronic Disease Control, Education and Research.

During his career as a research scientist and educator, Dr. Lynn Yeoman has authored 167 publications, invited papers, review articles, and book chapters. These publications draw upon his work in the areas of histone sequence determination, monoclonal antibody development for tumor markers and autocrine growth factor receptor characterization. In addition, he holds a United States patent for a monoclonal antibody-based test for the detection of a colon cancer marker in serum. He served as associate director of Cell and Molecular Biology in the Oncology Drug Discovery Program at Bristol-Myers Squibb Co. in Wallingford, Connecticut. Dr. Yeoman is currently the director of the College’s Integrated Problem Solving Program and Curriculum Database Programs. Dr. Yeoman currently serves as chairman of the CATCHUM Project’s Content Development Task Force, a National Cancer Institute funded program in cancer prevention education at the University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston, TX. He also serves as chairman of the United States Pharmacopeia’s Committee of Experts on Biologics and Biotechnology: Proteins and Polysaccharides and is a member of the Committee of Experts Executive Committee.

Dr. Yeoman is a member of the Center for Clinical Pharmacology planning team and a founding member of the Board of the Clinical Pharmacology Consortium of the Texas Medical Center. He is listed in numerous biographical publications, including Who’s Who in America, and received both the 2003 Distinguished Faculty Award from the Baylor Medical Alumni Association and the 2003 Fulbright & Jaworski L.L.P. Faculty Excellence Award for Educational Research from Baylor College of Medicine.

E-mail this page to a friend