Department of Pediatrics

Advisory Committee


The Emergency Medical Services for Children Advisory Committee is vital to the success of the EMSC State Partnership. The role of the advisory committee is to provide guidance to the State Partnership through vigilant exploration of the state of pediatric emergency medical care in Texas, identification of EMSC priorities, development of a strategic plan, and implementation and evaluation of EMSC strategy. Committee members, through their various backgrounds and disciplines, bring together a rich assortment of experiences and perspectives to achieve common goals. Moreover, as leaders in the community and in their respective professions and occupations, EMSC Advisory Committee members are instrumental in the promotion and promulgation of EMSC priorities.


Bylaw Document


Advisory Committee Agendas


Advisory Committee Meeting Minutes


Core Committee Members


EMSC Program Director: Brian Bassham, M.D., FAAP

EMSC Program Manager: Sam Vance, MHA, LP

Physician with pediatric training: Kate Remick, M..D

Nurse with emergency pediatric experience: Sally Snow, RN

Emergency Physician: Mark Sparkman, M.D.

EMT or Paramedic who is currently practicing: Roy Hunter, LP, CEMSO, CTO

EMS State Agency Representative: Joe Schmider, State EMS Director

Family Representative: Greta James Maxfield


Ad Hoc Members


GETAC Pediatric Committee: Belinda Waters, RN, Covenant

Children's Hospital Association of Texas (CHAT): Stacy E. Wilson, J.D., President

Disaster Preparedness Specialist: Brent Kaziny, M.D., Texas Children's Hospital

Fire-Based EMS Representative: Wendell Wiley, EMPTP/CFO, Chief, Texas City Fire Department

Injury Prevention Specialist: Rohit Shenoi, M.D., Texas Children's Hospital

Pediatric Emergency Medicine Fellows: Benjamin Lang, M.D., MPH & Annabel Cramer, M.D., Dell Children's

Texas College of Emergency Physicians (TCEP): Mark Sparkman, M.D., UT Health San Antonio

Texas Emergency Nurses Association (TENA): Crissie L Richardson, BSN, RN, CEN, COOK's Children

Texas Hospital Association (THA): Carrie Kroll, VP of Advocacy, Quality, and Public Health

Trauma Program Manager: Diana J. Kraus, RN, BSN, TNS, AVP of Trauma Services for Central West Texas Division HCA