skip to content »

Pediatrics - Alumni Association

Houston, Texas

Anatomy instruction at Baylor College of Medicine
Baylor Pediatric Alumni Association
not shown on screen

March 25, 2011

Dean Gmoser, President of the Baylor Pediatric Alumni Association, called the meeting to order on March 25, 2011. He thanked the organizers of the Pediatric Postgraduate Symposium, Drs. Drutz, Correa and Tapia. He then read the minutes of the previous meeting. Next, the winners of the 2011 Reba Michels Hill Scholarships were announced. Jill Weatherhead will start an advocacy program to increase community awareness of a new Med-Peds outpatient clinic in the South Union neighborhood of Houston, Niti Chokshi will study survival and outcomes after stem cell transplantation for non-SCID primary immunodeficiencies, and Hari Sankaran and Mary Catherin Brake will adopt an alternative HISD high school to pilot a comprehensive health awareness program.

Presentations were then heard from two of last year's Reba Hill winners. Following that, Dr. Gmoser then presented Dr. Mark Kline, Chairman of the Department of Pediatrics, this year's alumni contributions to the pediatric department. We contributed $1,000 to the infant car seat fund, $2,500 to the Blattner Lectureship, $3,000 to the Reba Michels Hill Scholarship, and $5,000 to the Ralph Feigin Lectureship. Dr. Kline was then invited to give his State of the Pediatric Department address.

Dr. Kline thanked the alumni for their continued contributions and mentioned there are a new Blattner Conference Room in the Clinical Care Center as well as a Feigin Library in the Feigin Center to learn more about these pediatric pioneers. There has been an increase in faculty to 714, making Baylor the largest department of pediatrics in the country. New department chairmen include several alumni: Steve Welty-Neonatology, Bob Voight-Developmental Pediatrics and Russell Ware, who will be the new director of the Center for Global Child Health and director of the Hematology Center of Excellence. Other chairmen include Dan Penny-Cardiology, Lara Shekerdemian-Critical Care, Jake Kushner-Diabetes and Endocrinology, Efrain Blaiberg-Child Psychiatry, and Michael Braun-Nephrology. In addition, Peter Hotez, director of the Sabin Vaccine Institute in Washington, D.C., will be moving to Baylor to establish the National School for Tropical Diseases. He specializes in neglected tropical diseases. Grant funding has increased by 11 percent to over $100 million, a new record for the department. Applicants to the residency program have continually increased to where approximately one out of three medical students applying to pediatric programs, apply to Baylor. All positions have been filled for next year and are represented by 27 different medical schools, another sign of the program's diversity.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Dean J. Gmoser, M.D.

E-mail this page to a friend