skip to content »

Pediatrics - Alumni Association

Houston, Texas

Anatomy instruction at Baylor College of Medicine
Baylor Pediatric Alumni Association
not shown on screen

April 23, 2010

Dean Gmoser, President of the BPAA, called the meeting to order on April 23, 2010. He thanked the organizers of the Pediatric Postgraduate Symposium, Drs. Drutz, Correa, and Tapia. He then read the minutes of the previous meeting. Next, the winners of the 2010 Reba Michels Hill scholarships were announced. Four recipients were funded and included: Dr. Tiphanie Vogel-Severity of Scleroderma and the relationship to Type-1-Interferon, Dr. Lindsey Hoffman-HPV Vaccination rates in pediatric cancer survivors, Dr. Kristen Mieto-Assessing obstetric and neonatal outcomes in adults with congenital heart disease, and Dr. Hari Sankaran-Identifying triggers that result in protocol treatment delays in children with acute lymphocytic leukemia. One of last year's winners, Dr. Jai Anandam, presented her findings related to the preferred method for diagnosis of STD's in an outpatient clinic setting.

Dr. Gmoser then presented this year's contributions from the alumni to Dr. Mark Kline, Chairman of the Department of Pediatrics. We contributed $1,000 to the infant car seat fund at Ben Taub, $3,000 to the annual Blattner Lectureship during Grand Rounds, $4,000 to the Reba Michels Hill Scholarship Fund for residents, and $5,000 to the newly established Feigin Lectureship given during the Postgraduate Symposium. Dr. Kline was then invited to give his State of the Pediatric Department address.

Dr. Kline indicated that the department was extremely healthy. It is the largest pediatric department (664 faculty) of any medical school in the United States. Recruitment has been very busy for the new West Campus, and the Neurological Research Institute. New chiefs have been hired for the Cardiology, Critical Care and Developmental Pediatric departments. Additional emphasis has been put on Behavioral Pediatrics and a Center for Global Child Health. In fact, five additional residency slots have been opened for this purpose. Texas Children's has also received over $90 million in research funds for the first time in its history. The 41 new residents coming in next year also come from 24 different medical schools, another sign of our diversity.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Dean J. Gmoser, M.D.

E-mail this page to a friend