skip to content »

Pediatrics - Alumni Association

Houston, Texas

Anatomy instruction at Baylor College of Medicine
Baylor Pediatric Alumni Association
not shown on screen

April 18, 2008

Dean Gmoser, President of the BPAA, called the meeting to order on April 18, 2008. He thanked the organizers of the Pediatric Postgraduate Symposium, Drs. Drutz, Correra, and Tapia. He also gave special thanks to the Blattner lecturer, Dr. Caroline Breese Hall. He then read the minutes of the previous meeting. He introduced the winners of the Reba Hill Scholarship: Dr. Fahd Ahmad (chest syndrome in sickle cell patients), Dr Elizabeth Bosquez (ALTE and parent/child co-sleeping), Dr. Jimmy Holder (genetic basis of developmental delay and infantile spasms), Dr. Seema Jilani (access to healthcare in economically disadvantaged countries), Dr. Rita Jermyn (nutritional and cultural barriers to pediatric obesity), and Dr. Thad May (malaria as a risk factor in maternal/child transmission of HIV). Next, an update was given by last year's winner, Dr. Harpavat, regarding his ability to make the Happy Meal at the TCH McDonald's healthier.

Dr. Gmoser then presented Dr. Feigin the alumni donations for this year. He received $7,000 for the Blattner Lectureship, $5,000 for the Reba Hill Scholarship, and $1,000 toward the Infant Car Seat Program. Dr. Feigin then gave his update on the Pediatric Department and Texas Children's. He also indicated that, due to health issues, a search committee has been established to find a successor to him as Chairman of the Department of Pediatrics.

Dr. Drutz was then called upon to moderate the tribute to Dr. Feigin. He introduced Dr. Bob Voigt who gave a heartfelt and humorous account, Dr. Stan Spinner, who presented Dr. Feigin with a collection of e-mails from alumni around the world, and finally, Dr. Allen Kline, who presented Dr. Feigin with a basketball trophy from all the alumni. There was also a presentation from the physicians of Venezuela to Dr. Feigin.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Dean J. Gmoser, M.D.

E-mail this page to a friend