skip to content »


Houston, Texas

A full range of modern neurosurgical specialties and techniques are provided by top BCM neurosurgery specialists.
Department of Neurosurgery
not shown on screen

Neurosurgical Teaching Faculty

Residents train with 28 neurosurgeons in the Texas Medical Center, at St. Luke's Episcopal Hospital, Ben Taub Hospital, the Michael E. DeBakey Veterans Affairs Medical Center, Texas Children's Hospital, and MD Anderson Cancer Center. The teaching neurosurgeons include 12 faculty at the Baylor College of Medicine, 12 faculty at MD Anderson, and 4 voluntary faculty.

Raymond Sawaya, M.D., Chair, Department of Neurosurgery, Baylor College of Medicine

St. Luke's Episcopal Hospital

  • Daniel Yoshor, M.D., Chief of Service, Director of Epilepsy Surgery, Program Director
  • Daniel H. Kim, M.D., Director, Spinal Surgery and Reconstructive Peripheral Nerve Surgery
  • Edward Duckworth, M.D., Director of Vascular Neurosurgery
  • Ibrahim Omeis, M.D.
  • Philp Phan, M.D.
  • Ashwin Viswanathan, M.D., Director of Functional Neurosurgery
  • Subrata Ghosh, M.D.
  • Thomas Mims, M.D.
  • Stuart Weil, M.D., Associate Chief of Service

Ben Taub Hospital

  • Shankar P. Gopinath, M.D., Chief of Service
  • Claudia Robertson, M.D., Director of Neurosurgical Critical Care
  • Edward Duckworth, M.D.
  • Claudio Tatsui, M.D.
  • Ashwin Viswanathan, M.D.

Michael E. DeBakey Veterans Affairs Medical Center

  • Bruce Ehni, M.D., Chief of Service
  • Claudio Tatsui, M.D.
  • Daniel Yoshor, M.D.
  • Ibrahim Omeis, M.D.
  • Ashwin Viswanathan, M.D.

Texas Children's Hospital

  • Thomas G. Luerssen, M.D., Chief of Service
  • Robert C. Dauser, M.D.
  • Daniel Curry, M.D.
  • William E. Whitehead, M.D.
  • Andrew Jea, M.D.
  • Daniel Yoshor, M.D., Pediatric Epilepsy Surgery

MD Anderson Cancer Center

  • Raymond L. Sawaya, M.D., Chief of Service
  • Franco DeMonte, M.D., Director of Skull Base Tumor Program
  • Laurence D. Rhines, M.D., Director of Spine Program
  • Jeffrey S. Weinberg, M.D., Director of Training
  • Syed Azeem, M.D.
  • Daniel Cahill, M.D.
  • Amy Beth Heimberger, M.D.
  • Frederick Lang, M.D.
  • Ian E. McCutcheon, M.D.
  • Nicholas Levine, M.D.
  • Sujit Prabhu, M.D.
  • Ganesh Rao, M.D.

E-mail this page to a friend