skip to content »

Molecular Virology & Microbiology - Alkek Center for Metagenomics and Microbiome Research

Houston, Texas

A BCM research lab.
Department of Molecular Virology and Microbiology
not shown on screen

Center Projects

Project Title: Viral Associations with Type 1 Diabetes
Association: nPOD (Network for pancreatic Organ Donors with Diabetes)
University Association: University of Florida
Email: http://www.jdrfnpod.org/

Project Title: The GI Microbiome
Association: Lynn Bry, Partners Healthcare
University Association: Harvard Medical School
Email: lbry@partners.org

Project Title: Enteroviruses, Type 1 Diabetes, and the Human Microbiome.
University Association: Baylor College of Medicine
Collaborator Name: Richard Lloyd, Ph.D.
Email: rlloyd@bcm.edu

Project Title: Contributions of the Maternal-Fetal Mitochondrial Genome and Microbiome Interactions to Preterm Birth
University Association: Baylor College of Medicine
Collaborator Name: Kjersti Aagaard, M.D.
Email: aagaardt@bcm.edu

Project Title: The GI Microbiome and Norwalk/Norovirus infection
University Association: Baylor College of Medicine
Collaborator Name: Mary K. Estes, Ph.D.
Email: mestes@bcm.edu

Project Title: The Respiratory Microbiome and Cystic Fibrosis
University Association: University of Michigan
Collaborator Name: John J. LiPuma, M.D.
Email: jlipuma@umich.edu

Project Title: Meningitis Etiologic Agent Discovery and Diagnosis
University Association: UT Health
Collaborator Name: Rodrigo Hasbun, M.D.
Email: Rodrigo.Hasbun@uth.tmc.edu

Project Title:Ocular Surface Microbome Project
University Association: Baylor College of Medicine
Collaborator Name: Dan B. Jones, M.D. and Stephen C Pflugfelder, M.D.
Email: dbj@bcm.edu

Project Title: The Microbiome and Type 1 Diabetes
University Association: The University of Florida, College of Medicine
Collaborator Name: Mark Atkinson, Ph.D.
Email: atkinson@ufl.edu

Project Title: The Microbiome and Human Decomposition
University Association: Sam Houston State University
Collaborator Name: Sibyl Bucheli, Ph.D. and Aaron Lynne, Ph.D.
Email: bucheli@shsu.edu

Project Title: Infectious and Microbiome Associations with Asthma
University Association: Baylor College of Medicine
Collaborator Name: David B. Corry, M.D
Email: dcorry@bcm.edu

Project Title: IgA, Rotavirus Infection, and the Commensal Microbiota
University Association: Baylor College of Medicine
Collaborator Name: Margaret E. Conner, Ph.D.
Email: mconner@bcm.edu

Project Title: TAK1 Impact on Microbiome Structure
University Association: The Methodist Hospital Research Institute
Collaborator Name: Rongfu Wang, Ph.D.
Email: rwang3@tmhs.org

Project Title: Nutrition, IBD, and the Microbiome
University Association: Baylor College of Medicine
Collaborator Name: Richard Kellermayer, M.D.
Email: kellerma@bcm.edu

Project Title: Role of MK5 Gene in Colitis
University Association: Lexicon Pharmaceuticals
Collaborator Name: David Harris, Ph.D.
Email: dpharris@lexpharma.com

Project Title: Nitrate Reduction, Cardiovascular Health and the Oral Microbiome
University Association: UTHSC and Texas Therapeutics Institute
Collaborator Name: Nathan S. Bryan, Ph.D.
Email: Nathan.Bryan@uth.tmc.edu

Project Title: The Role of Microbiome in the Ginseng Metabolism and Cancer
University Association: University of Houston, College of Pharmacy Texas Medical Center
Collaborator Name: Ming Hu, Ph.D.
Email: mhu@uh.edu

Project Title: Microbiome Interactions to Preterm Birth
University Association: Baylor College of Medicine
Collaborator Name: Kjersti Aagaard, M.D.
Email: aagaardt@bcm.edu

Project Title: The Microbiome in Colorectal Cancer and Pre-Cancerous Polyp Biopsies
University Association: Baylor College of Medicine
Collaborator Name: Hasem El Serag, M.D.
Email: hasheme@bcm.edu

Project Title: Metagenomic Analyses of the Alcohol Induced Pathogenic Alterations in the Intestinal Microbiome and Liver Injury and Prevention by Lactobacillus rhamnosus GG Treatment.
University Association: Louisville
Collaborator Name: Shirish Barve, Ph.D.
Email: shirish.barve@louisville.edu

Project: The Microbiome in Health and Disease in Aging Populations of Kazakhstan
University Association: Kazakhstan
Collaborator Name: Almagul R. Kushugulova
Email: akushugulova@nu.edu.kz

Project Title: Microbiome Associations with Preterm Birth
University Association: Michigan State University
Collaborator Name: Claudia Holzman-Marsh, D.V.M., M.P.H., Ph.D.
Email: holzman@msu.edu

Project: Models for Colitis and the Microbiome
University Association: UTMB
Collaborator Name: Sara M. Dann, Ph.D.
Email: smdann@utmb.edu

Project Title: Etiologic Agent Discovery
University Association: Baylor College of Medicine
Collaborator Name: David A Wheeler, Ph.D.
Email: wheeler@bcm.edu

Project Title: IgA Deficiency and Microbiome
University Association: Albany Medical College
Collaborator Name: Dennis Metzger, Ph.D.
Email: Metzged@mail.amc.edu

Project Title: Microbiome Studies in Underserved Communities
University Association: UTSPH
Collaborator Name: Eric Brown, Ph.D.
Email: Eric.L.Brown@uth.tmc.edu

Project Title: HIV and the Oral Microbiome
University Association: UT Dental
Collaborator Name: Gena Tribble, Ph.D.
Email: Gena.D.Tribble@uth.tmc.edu

Project Title: Impact of Sugar Substitutes on the Human Microbiome
University Association: MD Anderson-Bastrop
Collaborator Name: Greg Wilkerson, D.V.M
Email: GKWilkerson@mdanderson.org

Project Title: with Nathan Bryan Project
University Association: UTHSC
Collaborator Name: Heidi Kaplan, Ph.D.
Email: Heidi.b.kaplan@uth.tmc.edu

Project Title: The Microbiome Associated with Health and Disease in Multiple Primate Models
University Association: Baylor College of Medicine
Collaborator Name: Jeffrey Rogers, Ph.D.
Email: jr13@bcm.edu

Project Title: HIV and the Lung Microbiome
University Association: Universidad del Norte, Colombia
Collaborator Name: Homero San Juan, M.D., Ph.D.
Email: hsanjuan@uninorte.edu.co

Project Title: GI Microbiome Alterations during Chemotherapy
University Association: MD Anderson Cancer Center
Collaborator Name: Javier A. Adachi, M.D.
Email: jaadachi@mdanderson.org

Project Title: Bronchiolitis Severity and the Nasopharyngeal Microbiome
University Association: Harvard
Collaborator Name: Jonathan Mansbach, M.D., Ph.D.
Email: Jonathan.Mansbach@childrens.harvard.edu

Project Title: Understanding How Commensal Bacteria Shape Host Immune System Development and Responses
University Association: University of Utah
Collaborator Name: June Round, Ph.D.
Email: june.round@path.utah.edu

Project Title: Etiologic Agent Discovery
University Association: MD Anderson Cancer Center
Collaborator Name: Khanh Thi-Thuy Nguyen, M.D.
Email: KTNguyen1@mdanderson.org

Project Title: Microbiome Associations with Various Cancers
University Association: Baylor College of Medicine
Collaborator Name: Melissa Bondy, Ph.D.
Email: mbondy@bcm.edu

Project Title: Microbiome Associations with Various Cancers
University Association: Baylor College of Medicine
Collaborator Name: Michael Schuerer, Ph.D.
Email: scheurer@bcm.edu

Project Title: Microbiome Development and Association with Disease
University Association: University of Michigan Medical School
Collaborator Name: Patrick Schloss Ph.D.
Email: pschloss@umich.edu

Project Title: Collaborates on Dr. Mansbach Project
University Association: Baylor College of Medicine
Collaborator Name: Pedro Piedra, M.D.
Email: ppiedra@bcm.edu

Project Title: Metagenomic Analysis of Uveitis
University Association: National Institute of Health
Collaborator Name: Rachael Caspi, Ph.D.
Email: bladescr@mail.nih.gov

Project Title: Human/ Pediatrics
University Association: Baylor College of Medicine
Collaborator Name: Richard Kellermayer, M.D., Ph.D.
Email: kellerma@bcm.edu

Project Title: The Microbiome in Animal and Environmental Systems
University Association: University of Colorado, Boulder
Collaborator Name: Rob Knight, Ph.D.
Email: rob@spot.colorado.edu

Project Title: The GI Microbiome and Gnotobiotic Models of Disease
University Association: TAMHSC-Bryan
Collaborator Name: Robert Alaniz, Ph.D.
Email: Alaniz@medicine.tamhsc.edu

Project Title: Microbiome Association with Colitis and Autism
University Association: California Institute of Technology
Collaborator Name: Sarkis Mazmanian, Ph.D.
Email: sarkis@caltech.edu

Project Title: Etiologic Agent Discovery for Pediatric Diseases
University Association: Baylor College of Medicine and Texas Children's Hospital
Collaborator Name: Sheldon L. Kaplan, M.D.
Email: skaplan@bcm.edu

Project Title: GI-Cancer/Inflammation
University Association: City of Hope Comprehensive Cancer Center
Collaborator Name: Sumanta Pal, M.D.
Email: SPal@coh.org

Project Title: Inflammation, Auto-Immunity and the Microbiome
University Association: Boston Children's Hospital, Harvard
Collaborator Name: Talal Chatila, M.D.
Email: Talal.Chatila@childrens.harvard.edu

Project Title: Metagenomic Studies of Aquatic Disease
University Association: Sam Houston State
Collaborator Name: Todd Primm, Ph.D.
Email: TPP001@SHSU.EDU

Project Title: The GI Microbiome
University Association: Baylor College of Medicine and Texas Children's Hospital
Collaborator Name: Versolavic James, M.D., Ph.D.
Email: jamesv@bcm.edu

Project Title: Dietary Impact on the Microbiome and their Association with Cancer
University Association: Iowa State University
Collaborator Name: Gregory J. Phillips, M.D.
Email:

Project Title: Clostridium difficile and Travelers' Diarrhea Disease and Intervention
University Association: Baylor College of Medicine
Collaborator Name: Herbert L. DuPont, M.D.
Email: hdupont@bcm.edu

Project Title: A Preliminary Comparison of the Distal Gut Microbiome from HIV Infected Before and after HAART
University Association: Baylor College of Medicine
Collaborator Name: Lara Bull-Otterson, Ph.D.
Email: bull@bcm.edu

Project Title: The Microbiome and Type 1 Diabetes
University Association: University of South Florida
Collaborator Name: TEDDY
Email:

Project Title: Microbiome Associations with Multiple Sclerosis
University Association: Harvard University
Collaborator Name: Howard Weiner, M.D.
Email: hweiner@rics.bwh.harvard.edu

Project Title: Organismal Shift in the MECP2 Duplication Syndrome
University Association: Baylor College of Medicine and Texas Children's Hospital
Collaborator Name: Melissa Ramocki, M.D., Ph.D.
Email: mramocki@bcm.edu

Project Title: Microbiome Associations with Travelers' Diarrhea
University Association: Baylor College of Medicine
Collaborator Name: Sarah Highlander, Ph.D.
Email: sarahh@bcm.edu