skip to content »


Houston, Texas

The Alkek Building at Baylor College of Medicine
Section of Pulmonary, Critical Care, and Sleep Medicine
not shown on screen

Pulmonary, Critical Care, and Sleep Medicine

Dr. Kalpalatha Guntupalli

Kalpalatha K. Guntupalli, M.D.
Professor and Chief

The Section of Pulmonary, Critical Care, and Sleep Medicine at Baylor College of Medicine is nationally recognized for its excellence in patient care, research, and education.

The section has 59 faculty members including 29 full-time faculty, 24 clinical fellows, 13 post-doctoral research fellows, 8 student trainees, and a staff of nearly 34.

The section has total research support of $4.8 million from federal and private research grants, including lung cancer, asthma, COPD, pulmonary hypertension, pulmonary fibrosis, transitional medicine, lung transplant, and cystic fibrosis.

Many physicians from the section are national and international experts, and together they offer an incredibly large array of services, from general pulmonary and sleep medicine to highly specialized advanced lung diseases including pulmonary hypertension, pulmonary fibrosis, adult cystic fibrosis, COPD/asthma, interstitial lung disease, lung and heart-lung transplantation, critical care, and interventional pulmonary at BCM facilities and affiliated hospitals, including Baylor Clinic, Baylor College of Medicine Sleep Center, Ben Taub Hospital, Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center, St. Luke’s Episcopal Hospital, The Methodist Hospital, Texas Children’s Hospital Pavilion for Women, and Kindred Hospital.

The section offers four (4) fellowship programs, including Pulmonary & Critical Care, Critical Care Medicine, Lung Transplantation, and Sleep Medicine. Many alumni and former fellows can be found in academic, research, and healthcare leadership roles.