Baylor College of Medicine

Past Meetings

Media Component
2019 Department Hosts Inaugural Critical Care Conference

2019 Department Hosts Inaugural Critical Care Conference


On Sept. 13-14 2019, the Michael E. DeBakey Department of Surgery hosted the inaugural Advances in Critical Care Conference at the Intercontinental Hotel in the Texas Medical Center. The conference drew 175 physicians, nurses, and critical care experts from around the country.

The organizers of the conference, all from Baylor College of Medicine, included Dr. S. Rob Todd, professor and chief of Acute Care Surgery, Dr. Subhasis Chatterjee, assistant professor of Surgery, Dr. Kalpalatha K. Guntupalli, the Frances K. Friedman & Oscar Friedman, M.D. '36 Endowed Professor for Pulmonary Disorders, and Dr. James P Herlihy, professor of Pulmonary Medicine.

Keynote addresses we given by Dr. E. Wesley Ely of Vanderbilt University, who discussed the clinical conundrum of analgesia, sedation, and delirium management to promote ICU Liberation, and Dr. Kenneth L. Mattox, who presented “The DaMattox Code,” a look at the death of Princess Diana from a trauma perspective. The course provided the opportunity for participants to discuss treatment challenges and technologies routinely utilized to manage patients. Guideline algorithms and other organizational features necessary to running a highly effective ICU were also shared. As Dr. Chatterjee commented, “It was a lively and dynamic conference with nationally-renowned thought leaders, and it drew on the expertise of Baylor faculty and clinicians across four other Texas Medical Center institutions. It really benefited from having the presence of surgical, medical, and anesthesia perspectives to facilitate robust dialogue.”